Diamond Clarity

The beauty of a diamond is not only determined by its colour, but by its clarity as well. Since natural diamonds are formed from carbon that has been exposed to the intense heat and pressure deep in the earth, even the most brilliant diamond is left with naturally occurring characteristics called “inclusions” and external characteristics called “blemishes”. No two diamonds are exactly alike and it is these unique fingerprints on the gemstones that set each diamond apart.

Once again, these subtle differences are too tiny to be seen without the trained eye of a diamond grader. This makes an accurate diamond assessment even more valuable when purchasing the right diamond.

Evaluating a diamond’s clarity takes into account the number of inclusions or blemishes and how big they are, along with their exact position within the diamond. Each of these factors is also evaluated on how they affect the overall appearance of the stone.

There are six categories on the GIA’s Diamond Clarity Scale, divided into 11 specific grades from Flawless to Included (I1, I2, and I3), where the inclusions may affect the diamond’s transparency and brilliance. While no diamond is perfectly pure, the purer the diamond, the higher its value.

  • Colour

    Diamond colour actually refers to the lack of colour.

  • Clarity

    Diamond clarity refers to the absence of blemishes.

  • Cut

    Diamond cut refers to the ability to reflect light and sparkle.

  • Carat

    Diamond carat weight is the measurement of how much a diamond weighs.